What is a Horoscope and How Do You Read One? The Complete Guide

in Lifestyle

Are you wondering what is a horoscope along with how should you read one? If yes, you can check out our informative guide here.

Are you hoping to get in touch with your spiritual side and learn more about yourself? Reading your horoscope can be a great way to do both of these things. If you’re wondering what is a horoscope? and how to read yours, you’ve come to the right place.

Keep reading for our guide that will help you better understand horoscopes and how to read them so that you can delve into yours today.

What Is a Horoscope?

Unlike psychic readings (you can learn more from Peninsula Daily News), the practice of horoscopes in rooted in astrology. Using data such as when you were born, horoscopes study the orbit of the solar system to make predictions on how you may react to things based on your inner self. This calculation takes into account the positioning of the sun and moon to analyze what may be happening with someone at a certain moment of time.

There are many different types of ways to determine one’s horoscope, from the analysis of astrologers to tarot horoscope. Yet, all of these variations are rooted in analyzing the twelve birth signs as well as the element signs; earth, water, air, and fire. The element signs are determined by your birth date which is grouped together accordingly.

Because horoscopes are meant to be personal, unique and specific to you, there are many more aspects that determine your horoscope. If you want to read your horoscope yourself, it’s important to learn all the different facets.

The Sun Sign

This refers to the 12 signs, which you may already know (Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Aquarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces). This sign is determined by the way the zodiac constellations are positioned on the orbit around the sun, and which constellation is behind the sun at the time of your birth.

These are the most commonly known horoscope signs that are printed in magazines and newspapers alike. They represent your basic identities, such as your ego, expression, and actions.

The Elements

The signs are broken up into three different element groups. These signs are believed to be compatible due to their similar attributes and values. Many interpret the elements to figure out family, friends, and partner dynamics in their relationships.

Fire signs (Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius) are known for their fiery, passionate personalities. While they are often intense, they have strong gut instincts and tons of confidence. While there may be a lot of heated fights, fire signs do well together because they understand one another intense feeling of passion, whether it be for one another or a cause they deeply care about.

Air Signs (Gemini, Aquarius, and Libra) do best with each other because they are the most communicative sings. This sign is open-minded, approachable and very social, making for great conversations and outings.

Earth Signs (Taurus, Capricorn, and Virgo) are known to be assertive and stable. They do well with one another because they have high sensibilities and practicality. They are the problem-solvers amongst the signs, and they like to see things for exactly what they are, with eager persistence.

Water Signs (Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces) tend to be the most emotional, sensitive and kind signs. They understand one another’s tender emotions and are incredibly supportive.

The Moon Sign

This aspect often gets forgotten, but it is just as important in determining your horoscope as your sun sign. To figure this part out, you’ll need to know the exact time for your birth. This aspect is determined by what constellation the moon was at the time of your birth.

Knowing your moon sign can help you dig a little deeper into understanding your emotions and inner self. While the other signs tend to determine how you act with others and how you convey yourself to others, the moon sign is more personal and individualized. It can help you learn more about yourself when your alone or in your comfort zone with others.

This sign helps you figure out why you think a certain way or do certain things when you’re alone. It can also help you examine your closest relationships, such as a best friend. It may help you to better understand your innermost thoughts and your subconscious which can give you comfort during difficult times when your feeling alone or misunderstood.

The Houses

This sign refers to where in the galaxy the planet Mars was at the time of your birth. This system is divided into twelve sections that provide more specific insights into different areas of your life depending on which constellations and planets fall into the section of your birth time.

Your first house is determined by which constellation was rising in the Eastern horizon at the time of your birth. To figure out this house, you will also need to know your birth location. This house represents your self-image, and can better help you understand how you feel about yourself versus how you portray yourself.

The list goes on from there, but all in all, knowing your twelve houses can help you understand more about your personality traits and how they shape your life.

Learn More About Yourself Through Your Horoscope

Now that you know the answer to what is a horoscope? you can begin learning more about yourself by knowing more about your horoscope. While it seems complicated at first, once you know your different signs and houses, the process becomes simple.

For related articles, head the lifestyle section of our site!

Like this article? Share with your friends!

We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links. Learn more.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments